What's New

Bamboo Telecommunication Towers

Edotco Group a telecom tower Company ( an arm of Malaysia Based Axiata Group) in collaboration with Bangladesh University of Engineering( BUET) has successfully deployed a rooftop telecom tower in Dhaka (Capital of Bangladesh) made of bamboo.

The tower took around 12 days to build and uses less energy as compared to the traditional tower construction material. It can withstand winds of 210 Km/h and has a lifespan of 10 years with proper maintenance. The Tower can house up to 8 antennas,  enabling co-location

Bamboo being inherently light makes it easy to transport and install the structure on the rooftops without putting extra stress on the buildings. Studies indicate that untreated bamboo has the ability to bear the weight of concrete while possessing the rigidity and tensile strength to support its own weight, making it a material for telecom structure.

The civil engineering department of BUET is involved in exploring the uses of bamboo as an alternative material of construction. The research and design led by Professor Dr Syed Ishtiaq Ahmad were instrumental in the development and deployment of the tower.

Dr Shahjahan Mahmood, Chairman of BRTC (Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission), which oversees the regulation of telecom space in Bangladesh, said, "If this experiment turns out to be successful, we would help build eco-friendly mobile phone towers by providing incentives."

Edotco Group has also successfully filed its first patent for bamboo telecommunication towers. "The bamboo telecoms tower is our latest innovation which we conceptualised utilising natural, sustainable resources to build telecommunications infrastructure to lessen the impact on the environment," said Suresh Sidhu, CEO of Edotco Group.

The company has also previously experimented with a demo site in Kanchipur in Dhaka in december 2016, and intends to install more such towers in Dhaka and take this solution to other markets where it operates, as it has more than 16000 towers in Bangladesh, Cambodia, Malaysia, Pakistan and Srilanka.

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.